Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-01-2013, 03:20 PM   #1
Sbb
begorragirl

2017 25' Flying Cloud
Denville , New Jersey
Little Bigger than your average bear

I am a frustrated newbie, I can't wait to get out, but mid March will be my first trip. For now I fuzz around, and nap in my 2006 19' Bambi. I knew the bathroom door was a side angle opening, but I am a bit bigger than your average bear...and although the door is nice and wide, I see it only opens a fraction. What can I do aside from the two obvious, lose weight or get new mattress? I put a foam topper on and I think I will carve that in a bit, but my concern is pressure I put on the door going in and out. Has anyone else noticed this? Thanks. Sbb
Sbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 04:10 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1988 32' Excella
Robbinsville , New Jersey
You might be able to replace the door with a bi-fold door.
Wazbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 05:36 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1972 27' Overlander
Longmont , Colorado
Or just take the door off and hang a curtain.
tphan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 05:06 AM   #4
Vintage Kin

Fort Worth , Texas
Take the door off until you find a solution you really like (mattress shape, etc).
slowmover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 05:50 AM   #5
Rivet Master

2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by tphan View Post
Or just take the door off and hang a curtain.
Several people I know have done this. Make a curtain of something heavy like a quilted twin bedspread, for sound deadening properties. Also if yours is a wet bath, also hang a shower curtain behind it.