Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-03-2014, 09:19 AM   #1
cramar

1992 25' Excella
Leamington , Ontario
HELP! How to find out if "Airstream Life" is for us?

First post! Greetings to all you friendly streamers! I love Airstreams and would love to own one, BUT…

I have no experience with travel trailers, haven't lived in one for a long period, nor know if my wife and I would appreciate extensive travel with a trailer being considered home. We are retired and sick of Canadian winters. We would like to spend 3-5 months in a warmer climate, enjoying life rather than shovelling snow in the cold. Plus there are so many places we would like to see. We like traveling, but it is nice to return home to a fixed location, until the work begins (cutting lawns, constant house maintenance, etc.) The worse thing about travelling is finding suitable motels where and when you want them.

Since we travel with a dog, and decent pet-friendly accommodation is hard to find, I thought an Airstream might be the solution. My research indicates a 25'FB TB could be ideal (possibly used to save money). We could spend winters in a warm climate, and also visit many places in other seasons. Glamping looks and sounds just great!