Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2018, 01:44 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 12,878
Extra Lines in Posts

Has anyone else noticed that new posts often have extra lines added by the site, and that you have to edit these posts to tighten things up visually?


Running Apple MacBook Pro with Firefox 60.0.1 here.


I have seen quite a few posts which appear to have extra lines here and there.





For instance, the text above has at most one line between each statement, as I type. Will not edit if extra open lines appear.


Curious . . .


Cheers,



Peter


PS on Edit -- yup, plenty of extra lines above.
__________________

OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 01:46 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Al and Missy's Avatar

 
2002 30' Classic S/O
Melbourne Beach , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3,926
I've been seeing the same thing recently.


Al
__________________

__________________
"You cannot reason someone out of a position they have not been reasoned into"
Al, K5TAN and Missy, N4RGO
WBCCI 1322
2002 Classic 30 Slideout -S/OS #004
2013 Dodge 2500 Laramie 4x4 Megacab Cummins



Al and Missy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 01:47 PM   #3
The Aluminum Tent 3
 
pcskier's Avatar

 
2014 23' Flying Cloud
Park City , Utah
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,499
Yep, same thing. I thought I was doing something wrong.
pcskier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 01:50 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 12,878
What are your OS etc. Al and Peter?
OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 02:35 PM   #5
The Aluminum Tent 3
 
pcskier's Avatar

 
2014 23' Flying Cloud
Park City , Utah
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,499
Mac Desktop OSX 10.9.5, Firefox Browser.
pcskier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 03:02 PM   #6
PKI
Rivet Master
 
PKI's Avatar
 
2015 23' FB Flying Cloud
Walnut Creek , California
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 3,807
test 1 line

test 2 lines


test no lines
this is a set of tests to see what line spacing results. Pat

Edit - Windows 10, Google Chrome ..... does not look to be adding lines. Maybe yous has too many rivets and the site is converting them to line spacing. Or ............
PKI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 03:07 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
Al and Missy's Avatar

 
2002 30' Classic S/O
Melbourne Beach , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3,926
Running Asus Laptop with Windows 10, Firefox.
1 linefeed


2 linefeeds




3 linefeeds


I think I have seen it change spacing mid post

When I first typed it it looked right in the window. When I previewed it and came back to the edit window, the linefeeds had been added. IF I delete them, they stay gone.




Al
__________________
"You cannot reason someone out of a position they have not been reasoned into"
Al, K5TAN and Missy, N4RGO
WBCCI 1322
2002 Classic 30 Slideout -S/OS #004
2013 Dodge 2500 Laramie 4x4 Megacab Cummins



Al and Missy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 03:12 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 12,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al and Missy View Post
. . .
. . . the linefeeds had been added. IF I delete them, they stay gone.
. . .
Same here.



A Firefox problem maybe?
OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 03:13 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
Lily&Me's Avatar

 
2007 Interstate
Normal , Illinois
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 15,751
I have seen that in many others post, but not in my own.

I use Safari.

Maggie
__________________
🏡 🚐 Cherish and appreciate those you love. This moment could be your last.🌹🐚
Lily&Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 03:59 PM   #10
Rivet Master

 
2007 22' International CCD
Corona , California
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7,926
Whitespace makes posts (and anything else on a computer) more readable, IMHO. it costs effectively nothing in storage space....

That Said, I'm typically posting from FireFox on a Windoze 10 PC or an iPhone, and have to put in my own whitespace...to make it readable
__________________
Rich, KE4GNK/AE, Overkill Engineering Dept.
'The Silver HamShack' ('07 International 22FB CCD 75th Anniversary)
Multiple Yaesu Ham Radios inside and many antennae sprouting from roof, ProPride hitch, Prodigy P2 controller.
2012 shortbed CrewMax 4x4 Toyota Tacoma TV with more antennae on it.
rmkrum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 05:07 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 12,878
FWIW I am still seeing this all over, Admins and Mods.

Peter
OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 05:42 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
Caffeinated's Avatar
 
2015 27' Flying Cloud
Portland , Oregon
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,004
I

don't


know


what


you


are


talking


about.


Mike
Caffeinated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2018, 02:38 PM   #13
4 Rivet Member
 
3wd67rg's Avatar
 
1988 32.5' Airstream 325
WhereIam , Left Coast Proud
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 437
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al and Missy View Post
Running Asus Laptop with Windows 10, Firefox.
1 linefeed


2 linefeeds




3 linefeeds


I think I have seen it change spacing mid post

When I first typed it it looked right in the window. When I previewed it and came back to the edit window, the linefeeds had been added. IF I delete them, they stay gone.




Al
I have seen this problem periodically on almost every social network over the last decade whether I was using PC w/Windows or a Mac, Android or an iPhone, OR, browsing on IE, Chrome, Firefox, or Safari. I do think you are right Al & Missy, opening up an edit window makes it more likely to occur.

I have however, had a different experience in that attempting to delete the extra line feed was pointless, however if I did not delete them, All those line feeds doubled themselves.

I feel as Sisyphus must have. On a much tinier scale. Less any imperative save my own.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rmkrum View Post
Whitespace makes posts (and anything else on a computer) more readable, IMHO. it costs effectively nothing in storage space....

That Said, I'm typically posting from FireFox on a Windoze 10 PC or an iPhone, and have to put in my own whitespace...to make it readable
rmkrum, I am entirely with you on using Whitespace to make reading easier. I suppose that technically it’s an overuse of paragraphs, but if I want readers to stay with me to the end, the least I can do is make it easy.

In Facebook it’s not a good idea to use more than a single line space for whitespace. People see two whitespaces and assume that the end.

**In the typing of this post I have used single line spacing between paragraphs and one double line space before the 2nd quote. I’ll post it, open it up to edit, and see what happens.

***I am currently opened in Edit. No extra line feeds were added to the original post, so I will close this now. Won’t open for edit unless I see extra line feeds. Of course all this proves is that this iPhone 6+, with this particular iOS 11.3.1, with this particular browser, Firefox, isn’t having a problem today. LOL!
3wd67rg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 12:25 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 12,878
No need for that broad a brush here in my opinion. The problem noted in the OP is brand new here, starting a couple of seeks ago plus or minus. The extra lines can be removed in Edit mode, but this has to be done with every single post I have made in the last couple of weeks.

A pain . . .

OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 05:29 AM   #15
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 12,878
Looks like this may have been corrected?

Thanks to admins and mods.



Have a good weekend!

Peter
OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 12:10 PM   #16
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 12,878
Did I speak too soon? I see extra lines in many posts today. [see edit notes below]

[edit -- extra line]
test

[ditto]
test

[ditto]
test

[ditto]
and . . . ?


[edit -- the extra lines above were not in the original window for composing the reply]
OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 12:21 PM   #17
Rivet Master
 
Lily&Me's Avatar

 
2007 Interstate
Normal , Illinois
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 15,751
I still think it may be a browser issue, or something else specific to users and extraneous to AirForums, itself.

Maggie
__________________
🏡 🚐 Cherish and appreciate those you love. This moment could be your last.🌹🐚
Lily&Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 12:59 AM   #18
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 12,878
What version of Firefox are you running? I have updated mine a couple of times in the last few weeks, and am currently on 60.0.2 (64-bit).

Thanks,

Peter

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcskier View Post
Mac Desktop OSX 10.9.5, Firefox Browser.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al and Missy View Post
Running Asus Laptop with Windows 10, Firefox.
. . .
OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 07:23 AM   #19
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 12,878
Thanks Brian for the reply in your Western Adventure thread. I am taking the liberty of posting it here, in hopes that the bread crumbs of Firefox clues might lead to us resolving this. No rush to post while you are on the new adventure, and thanks for letting us tag along!

Peter

Quote:
Originally Posted by moosetags View Post
Hi Peter,

Yes, I have noticed this <snip> double line spacing between paragraphs. I believe that it has to be something with the browser, in my case it is FireFox. I have not had time to really mess with it, but I have found that I can go back in and edit my post and remove the extra line space. This is why some of my posts are double spaced and some are not.

Brian
OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2018, 04:27 AM   #20
Rivet Master
 
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Long Island , New York
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 12,878
This problem persists IMO. Check the first post in this new thread:

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f164...re-183257.html

Anyone found any solutions other than careful editing of posts?

Is this a Firefox problem in fact?

Thanks and have a good weekend.

Peter
__________________

OTRA15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extra, Extra!! codybear Airstream "In the News" 3 04-16-2007 03:59 PM
Posts credit for Photos mwilleford Our Community 1 03-22-2002 06:02 AM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Airstream, Inc. or any of its affiliates. Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.