Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum > Wheel Wells
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-01-2019, 12:23 PM   #1

Montgomery , Texas
Rusted through at base of wheel arch

Hi All,

I’m looking at a Land Yacht from the late 70s. The aluminum shell seems to be in great condition. However, I’ve noticed a significant amount of rust underneath with the worst area by far located at the base of the wheel arch near the kitchen sink. As I’m new to Airstreams and trying to buy something reasonably restorable, is this kind of damage a non-starter? I’ve pulled up carpets and seen the floor does have some watermarks in areas but nothing so extensive as to explain the amount of rust at the base of the wheel arch. Any suggestions on what this might be caused by and suggested remedies? Only one wheel arch is in this condition.

Thanks in advance for your tips and tricks!

Click image for larger version

Name:	67A9352F-1C2E-4FFC-96DE-3B89F3EF21E0.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	250.4 KB
ID:	348227
DonVes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2019, 01:01 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1973 21' Globetrotter
Houston , Texas
Welcome to the Forums!

The typical Airstream trailer from the 70's and earlier, especially in the wet and humid southern states will have extensive floor rot, especially in the very rear, and considerable frame rust/rot.