Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Exterior Restoration Forum > Steps
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-01-2011, 05:49 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1985 31' Limited
Nellysford , Virginia
Do I really have to admit my stupidity?

Working my way through my recent purchase, a 1985 31 ft. Limited. Wife and I spent the day applying some TLC to the interior......very pleased with the results. But that is another story.
Okay, here is the stupid part.....getting one step of my two steps down is a snap. grab the levers on each side and lift and it snaps in to place. Now getting the second step down has been a perplexing problem, yet unsolved. I did it the very first time a tried but have been unable to duplicate since then. I was a hospital administrator, not an engineer so that explains it all.......it'll be interesting to see how you explain this to feat to me.
Your assistance is welcome.
Ron T.
RTurnConn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 06:25 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2008 27' Classic FB
Burkburnett , Texas
I know I saw the dealer do it, but when I got home I felt like an idiot. It might be one of those right brain, left brain things... The step is designed to be functional with only the 1st section deployed. If the second section is needed you grab the rear edge and roll it 360 degrees towards you keeping the front edge above the first step until everything is clear. To stow it, roll it up to the rear remembering it rotates 360 degrees.
Old 10-01-2011, 06:30 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2000 25' Safari
Davidson County , NC Highlands County, FL