Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-11-2021, 04:20 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Charlottesville , Virginia
Painting Mural over Clearcoat?

1. I realize 99.7% of people who read this will think my idea is a bad one :-)

Not interesting in discussing WHETHER I should have a mural painted on my Airstream, only HOW I can go about it :-)

2. For the .3% of you who are intrigued and may know a little about this, hope you can help!

I'm not an artist but am going to commission someone to paint a mural on the side of my 2021 Globetrotter. I know that it has a PPG fluorocarbon clearcoat, and I've been searching for ideas/techniques on either painting over the clearcoat OR treating (or removing?) the clearcoat from the "mural" area first before painting on the aluminum.

Adding to the challenge is that I would like to do it with ecologically friendly products if at all possible.

Not finding anything so reaching out for advice here. Thoughts?
duvaltarheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2021, 04:30 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2013 20' Flying Cloud
Westerly , Rhode Island
Quote:
Originally Posted by duvaltarheel View Post
Not interesting in discussing WHETHER I should have a mural painted on my Airstream, only HOW I can go about it :-)
The over-under is set at two posts. Ladies and Gentlemen, place your bets.
smithcreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2021, 05:51 AM   #3
1 Rivet Member

Does yours count as one?

;-)
Old 02-11-2021, 05:51 AM   #4
Rivet Master

1988 25' Excella
1987 32' Excella
Knoxville , Tennessee