Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Wheels, Hubs & Bearings
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-25-2010, 07:46 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1975 31' Sovereign
howell , Michigan
Centramatics -- 16" wheel rim size

My Stream currently has the bias ply 7-15 and I am planning on purchasing 16" aluminum wheels and 235/80-16 radial tires. These are the closest thing I can find to the 7-15 size. Any one else out there running this size tire?

I am planning on having the new tires and wheels balanced. Is there still a need for Centramatic? I am new at this and didn't know there were such a device until reading some of the threads.

I also read in one of the threads that you should be able to see the top of the tire when looking at the trailer from the side. I can't see the top of tires the top of the tire is about 2" up in the fender well. Does this mean I should look into new axles? can't really afford this year!

I am having a ball with my new project, tore out the kitchen counter top this weekend for replacement. Can't wait for spring so I can address the couple leaks I have.

any replies greatly appreciated

Thanks Larry
larry b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 09:10 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2005 25' Safari
Salem , Oregon
Hi, larry b. Since Airstream and/or the axle manufacturer doesn't balance the brake drums, balancing you tires/wheels doesn't quite do the job. So I for one, use Centramatics to prevent my trailer from shaking to pieces. Without pictures of your trailer it is hard to tell about your axles, but my understanding is if the top of your tire cannot be seen, meaning that the top of your wheel is inline with your wheel well moulding, you need axles.
YAMAHA 2400 / AIR #12144