Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-04-2024, 07:17 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2020 16' Caravel
Ann Arbor , Michigan
Brake and Nev R Lube bearings inspection

I'm in the process of getting my 2020 16ft trailer in working order for a trip in April to be in Ohio during the eclipse.

This is my first time looking at brakes and bearings. I know I should have done this every year. I actually bought new brake assemblies and decided I don't need to use them yet because there's plenty of life left in my brake pads. The Nev-R-Lube bearings look good and the wheels turn smoothly. What I don't know is should I apply lube anywhere before putting the drum back on? There does seem to be grease on the axle. Should I wipe all that away and apply any new grease?

And I've logged about 28k miles with this trailer.

Thank you!
onefiftyfour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2024, 07:43 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
I would remove the bearings, clean the spildles, get some anti-seize compound and lube the spindle shaft. Someone didn't apply anti- seize when mine was built and I had a horrible time getting the bearing off some years later. I had to buy a hydraulic puller to get it off.
Also, check the bearings for lateral runout and replace if excessive.

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2024, 02:48 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member

2020 16' Caravel
Ann Arbor , Michigan
Thanks for the reply. I'll have to research removing these Nev R Lube bearings. I was under the impression that wasn't easy. And also lateral run-out. The drum seems to rotate evenly.
Old 03-04-2024, 03:31 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois