Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Running Gear - Axles, Brakes, Wheels & Tires > Wheels, Hubs & Bearings
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-13-2013, 07:15 AM   #1
Rivet Master

2021 25' Globetrotter
Jamestown , Rhode Island
An education in wheel balance (long)...

I like to believe that I am pretty knowledgable on some subjects. Certainly when it comes to bolting wheels onto vehicles of any kind I have a lot of experience.... (I have made my living as a mechanic and now the owner of a shop that specializes in European auto repair). Anyway I have bolted on a lot of wheels in my day.

Some of you may have read my thread on the Marathon tires I have been carefully monitoring the tires for flaws from the moment they were new. Recently I discovered what I believe is a failing tire and have decided to replace the tires with Michelins.

In my quest to further isolate myself from tire woes I also decided to install a Dill pressure/temperature monitor system.

Another thing I investigated was reported lack of balance of the Dexter drums.
Andy at Inland RV has mention this before and I was skeptical, I had to see for myself....
Holy cow!!! These things are gross! I took the step of balancing my drums so that my wheels can now be balanced off the rig. This will be the subject of another post!

My final modification was to retrofit shocks to my Airstream as I really want to cover the bases here.

I began by mounting my new tires on the rims Airstream supplied with the trailer new, Sendel S20T's. I like the look and wanted to keep this wheel.

Now all that is left is to balance and check RoadForce numbers to verify that there are no problems. Here is the moment things begin to unravel!