Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Hitches, Couplers & Balls
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-03-2003, 11:58 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

weight distributing bars/trunnion bars

Hello to all. I am new to this A/S forum and have enjoyed reading and learning from the postings in this forum. Although I do not yet own an A/S, I do tow an enclosed Featherlite trailer that carries an old classic car. Total tow weight of trailer with car is approx. 5000 pounds. Tongue weight is about 500 pounds. Tow vehicle is a 93 Land Cruiser with a TRD Supercharger which bumps HP to 300 and torque to about 390 lb-ft. (Really helps pull up the Blue Ridge Mtns.)
I use a reese weight distributing hitch with trunnion bars that have a 1000# weight capacity. Unfortunately, because of the configuration of the Featherlite tongue and aero trailer, I could not install the dual cam sway control, but in the 3000 miles or so I have traveled so far, I have not had too much trouble with sway. However,I was suprised to read several postings from some of you stating that it is not advisable to use trunnion bars with weight capacities that far exceed the tongue weight of the trailer b/c they can be too 'stiff' and cause handling problems. Could someone help explain that more for me, esp. since I haven't noticed anything that I felt needed to be improved upon in the handling dept. Thanks to all.
teutonik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2003, 04:48 PM   #2
Rivet Master

It seems to me there was some information on this on the Reese website.

I would not be surprised however, to learn that your tongue weight is somewhat higher than you think. Of course, if you have had it weighed as loaded, that settles that.