Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-01-2019, 06:01 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2018 25' Flying Cloud
BEAUMONT , TX
Towing Catch 22

Newbie here making first post. I have read many pages of towing information on these forums and am feeling a little confused. It seems the best advice is to make sure you know your travel weights of TV and AS to be sure you get the correct WD hitch setup. This assumes you have your AS and TV already at your home and can get to the CAT scales and do your measurements. I will be purchasing a 25FB , from a private seller, about 180 miles from my home and will need to get it back home to make all the appropriate measurements so I can select the correct hitch and set it up correctly. What about getting it home the first time? The good news is that I have a strong TV (2016 F250 Diesel) but will be right at my Class 5 hitch tongue weight limit of 850 lbs (without weight distribution). Is towing it home driving below speed limit, etc. advised or should I do something different? BTW, I am in south Texas so no mountains, steep passes or anything like that between home and where I am picking up the AS. Tallest things on the horizon are fire ant mounds.

I know the risk is mine, but would appreciate some feedback.
95TLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 06:07 PM   #2
Trailer Sold, Waving

2019 26' Flying Cloud
Stettler , Alberta
You will be fine. Head out early in the morning (or whenever the wind is calm), take your time. Deep breaths.
WBCCI #6679
Acheron2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 06:17 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2019 27' Flying Cloud
Kansas City , Missouri
Before you go make sure your trailer hitch ball is the right size for an Airstream. It may not be.

THAT would be a problem.

Piggy Bank
Piggy Bank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 06:31 PM   #4
2 Rivet Member

2018 25' Flying Cloud
BEAUMONT , TX