Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-10-2003, 09:13 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member

2004 25' Safari
Sway Control

I am quite new at this, so would like some imput as to the type of sway control works best ( hooking, unhooking, etc). I am pulling ( only a couple of short trips so far ) a 19' Bambi with a equalizer hitch & would feel more at ease with a sway control installed. I have been looking at the Reese Dual Sway control vs a friction type & there is a bit of difference in the price, but figure there must also be a difference in performance. Your imput would be appreciated. BTW Spring can not be far off, supposed to be above 0 this week.
Thanks,

Bogfrog & Mr. Turbo

If in life you stumble, make it part of the dance
WayWard Wind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 09:19 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1986 25' Sovereign
Southern Middle , Tennessee
I would recommend the Reese Dual Sway Control hitch setup over a friction type. What kind of tow vehicle are you using that you do not feel comfortable towing the small trailer?

AIR #0078
'01 2500hd ext. cab, 8.1 litre gas, 5 sp. Allison auto
3.73 rear end
Mag-Hytec rear diff cover
Amsoil Dual by-pass oil filtration system
Amsoil synthetics all around
265 watt AM Solar, Inc. system
davidz71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 09:28 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member

2004 25' Safari
Sway control

I'm pulling with a Ram 1500. Pulled last year a couple of times with a Ranger, knowing that I was upgrading to a bigger truck. I don't anticipate problems with that size trailer, but to be on the safe side, thought I'd go with a sway control.

Bogfrog & Mr. Turbo

Old 03-10-2003, 09:28 PM   #4
Contributing Member

2018 Interstate Grand Tour Ext
Austin (Hays County) , Texas
Reese friction sway bar