Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Hitches, Couplers & Balls
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-08-2014, 04:02 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
cincinnati , Ohio
Starting with the basics Newbie needs help with hitch set up

I have been eyeing airstreams for some time and am giving some very serious thought to scratching that itch as it were. I'm a fairly skilled woodworker with a very full workshop and enough rough lumber to last many years. I can deal with basic electrical and plumbing issues, so I feel capable of dealing with the interior of an older smaller/ish (say 25 foot and under) AS.

I have been lurking on this site for a while and have read enough to know that axles likely need to be replaced, or at least bearings packed, new tires, and a light bar to get the trailer rolling.

What I don't have completely figured out are the towing options, and I could use some help.

We have two cars: a 2004 6cy Explorer that is wired for trailer lights and has a factory installed 2 inch receiver. I don't know off of the top of my head, but I think it is rated for 3500 lbs, perhaps a bit more.