Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Hitches, Couplers & Balls
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-04-2018, 04:49 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2018 16' Sport
Berkeley , California
Review of the Trailer Valet XL

Hi all-

First post on the forums!

Recently took the plunge and bought the dream, a 2018 Bambi Sport 16RB. Upon purchasing and bringing her home, it became clear that a) I am terrible at backing up this thing (newbie here) and b) I had a bit of a tight spot to get it past the fence and into the backyard.

Did some research (And had been doing proactive research with this fear on my mind) and ended up buying the Trailer Valet XL.

Just wanted to share my positive experience with this product as a searchable help for future Airstreamers.

I got super lucky and a guy on Craigslist was selling the exact version I needed so I was able to use it within 12 hours of bringing Peanut (our Airstream) home.

It took only a few minutes to setup, feels really heavy and well constructed, and has some great support tutorials online. I tool it outside and positioned it under my hitch with the tutorial playing, went step by step and was able to get the trailer onto the ball.

A few things:

1. It doesnt say it online or on Amazon, but the latest versions of the Trailer Valet XL come with a 2 5/16th ball adapter that you clip onto the 2" ball. This was HUGE because otherwise I would have had to order the 2 5/16th threaded ball for the XL.

2. It takes some practice to get the lock back on after mounting the trailer but got better over time.