Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Hitches, Couplers & Balls
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-21-2006, 07:58 AM   #1
1 Rivet Short

1989 25' Excella
By The Bay , Rhode Island
Equalizer hitch rambling...

Just a word of caution/advice related to the Equalizer hitch. Having just experienced our first significant outing with our Excella, I wanted to tweak my hitch as I thought I may be able to dial in the performance (I’m an Engineer and more than a little anal about stuff like this). I was riding a little high at the front of the camper, but was out of adjustment holes on the hitch shank. The camper handled fine on the first leg of the journey, but I thought maybe it could be even better if it were more level. At our first stop, I took the hitch off, inverted the shank (to gain more downward adjustment) but then was not happy about the resulting loss of ground clearance to the bottom of the shank-only about 3” off the ground (I have the standard shank #4100). So I turned the shank back to its original position and decided I would either live with the camper riding a little high in the nose, or find another solution when I got back home. When I re-assembled everything I put the hitch head back so that it was almost level (all the way against the pin that holds the washers) not angled down 4-6 degrees as the instruction clearly state. I did this at the suggestion of a friend who was camping beside us, and to be honest I could not remember how I had it set initially. On the next leg of the journey (leg 2) the handling seemed a little worse, but not real bad. I checked everything at the next stop, and all looked OK (but my mind was still troubled-something was rotten in Denmark?!) On the last leg home (leg 3)