Old 06-28-2020, 08:46 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2020 25' Flying Cloud
lake Wales , Florida
Equalizer 4 WDT on an Touareg V6 gas

I had the Airstream dealer install an Equalizer WD hitch on my VW Touareg 2916 V6 gas. Towing a 25 FC RB. Hooked up, it seemed good with the two vehicles level at the get go. After a few thousand miles, I am having the following concerns:

1) is it mounted correctly to distribute the weight for my vehicle?
2) when I turn, this sounds like it is shaving steel of the bars. It is a real show stopper when I stop for gas, or pull into a campground.

Need advice quick! Do I lubricate the grinding parts? Does this reduce the function of the hitch? Do I need to make the Can AM modifications to the hitch on the car? Do I just let it break in and it will quiet down?

Last week my dealer recommended I install the hard plastic pads on both arm contact points. Jez does that scream.

Maybe just need to tweak the install and put the forces in balance.

I am new at this, and a biological scientist by training. I know many of you have expert mechanical engineering experience.

Lay it on me.

Ed in The loud Cloud.

Flathead1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 08:26 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1986 31' Sovereign
Miami , Florida
It all comes down to “how does it tow”? Does the trailer move significantly when you are passed by an eighteen wheeler or a box truck? Does it wallow back and forth? Does it track well? Is there any porpoising, especially on segmented concrete roads?

The noise is the frictional element of your anti-sway doing its thing. On my previous trailer, with a straight line hitch, at low speed it sounded like someone torturing a cat. Don’t grease anything — it will defeat the purpose of anti sway. The hard plastic pads may be quieter but probably won’t last very long.

Dismissive cat
n2916s is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 08:48 AM   #3
3 Rivet Member

1976 29' Ambassador
Logansport , Indiana