Old 02-13-2020, 11:23 PM   #1
JWR

2018 19' Flying Cloud
Palo Alto , California
Do I need an anti sway hitch?

I just bought a 2018 FC 19. It weighs about 4,000 lbs. (Which is currently getting a 3" Dexter lift kit to get a little space under it.) I'm towing it with a 2020 Chevy 2500 that weighs 6,980. So I don't think so.

The dealer suggested but I thought it was an upsell attempt. The previous 4 trailers were pop ups and tow vehicle was a 2005 Titan.

I tow a 12,000 lb boat with this truck without one and that's no problem. Just don't get in a hurry and give yourself plenty of space like towing any other large load.

Just thought I would check with the experts since I'm new to the AS world.

JWR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 05:02 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2013 31' Classic
billings , Montana
Try it without....if ever in the wind or being passed ...you may want it

tjdonahoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 05:42 AM   #3
CLOUDSPLITTER "Tahawus"

2003 25' Classic
Zanadude Nebula , Milky Way
I tried with our first AS, '63 single axle Safari...👎
Light weight+single axle= a lot of potential for unwanted movement.

Bob
🇺🇸

At least try...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Eaz-Lift 2005.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	30.4 KB
ID:	361070  

“Growing Old…being able to think about things you can no longer remember.”
RLC

"Never tow faster than your Guardian Angel can Fly"

Sweet Streams....🌥
ROBERT CROSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 05:45 AM   #4
Rivet Master

2012 27' Flying Cloud
W , New England
Everyone’s thought process is unique. You have a brand new truck and a near new trailer. Combined a healthy 6 figure purchase. For anywhere from $500 to $2500 you can add safety equipment to help with the things that are out of your control. Basically the equivalent of spending perhaps upward of 1.5 pennies for the dollar to protect the dollar.