Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Hitches, Couplers & Balls
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-08-2010, 07:15 PM   #1
mgm
Pursuit of Happiness

2007 25' Safari FB SE
2014 30' FB FC Bunk
Rootstown , Ohio
Buying a Hitch, from what i have read...

I am new to Airstreaming and RVs in general. So after about 800 miles of towing, I have now come to the conclusion that sway control is imperative. I had some serious tail wagging with my Bambi before I sold it, and I do not wish to ever experience that again. Especially with my new 2007 25ft Safari. So I have been reading thread after thread and gathering as much info as possible before making my purchase.
And after a few private messages and reading about every thread possible. Here is what I have come up with.
I can afford to buy a Pro Pride hitch and was leaning that way from the start. Because from everything I have read the HAHA ( Hensley Arrow) and PP (Propride ) users have all stated that there is little out there that can come close to their respective products. They seem to perform solid for about every application and most of their users seem very pleased.
The only posted cons….have been for the weight of both systems, the costs, the paint on the HAHA and some other concerns such as the Hitching up time and some drawbacks while in reverse and maintenance, which is not a true con, since every system requires some form of it. In essence the con list isn’t too long, and in all actuality i would say the biggest con is the price.