Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Hitches, Couplers & Balls
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-10-2008, 11:31 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2007 19' Bambi
Portland , Maine
Bolt Bent on WD bracket -- AGAIN

Okay, everybody remember when I was a TOTAL newbie, and took my Bambi out on her first trip, and freaked out when THIS happened?

http://www.airforums.com/forums/f42/...ter-41425.html

Okay, this is crazy, but it's a happening again, on the same bracket. I can feel it bending by sliding my finger underneath the bracket. It's at about a 20 degree angle. What the...? Why is this happening again so fast?

I know that I have the WD system done correctly this time -- I stopped in Arkansas and visited the WONDERFUL guys at Airstream of Arkansas and got some fabulous free training. And yet... there it is, bending again. I'm going to have to have the bolt cut again.

Any ideas? And if the bolt is bent about 20 degrees, is it safe to be towing the trailer? I HAVE to move tomorrow morning. Not sure what to do...

Hayley
iHayley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 11:44 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Post a picture of the WD showing the chains, the bars, and where the bracket is mounted to the frame so we can take a look.

Something is moving the bracket in order to bend the bolt. There should be very little horizontal load on the bolt if install correctly. My first guess is the bars are coming in contact with the the bracket during a turn but will need to see things to be sure.

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2008, 11:59 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
it might explain the popped rivets too.