Old 07-31-2020, 09:05 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

San Diego , California
Anyone towing with Mercedes Benz GLS450

Newbie here...we will be towing a 2018 16ft Bambi sport with our 2017 Mercedes Benz GLS450 with a factory hitch installed.

Given the air suspensions and towing a smaller AS we will just be using a ball hitch that fits the required specs given by our user manual - there are specific measurements the manual says we cannot exceed. Our question for other members who tow with a GLS450, do you find the 7.5” space from the pinhole of the factory hitch to the middle of the ball a little small? It seems really close to our bumper.

Are there any other suggestions for set ups? We’ve looked into the weight distribution hitches but we’re unsure how this will work with the specs given in our manual and the 600lb tongue weight max for our factory hitch. We will currently be renting airstreams, as finding used smaller airstreams are really difficult right now and we will not be towing anything bigger than 22ft. Any feedback would be much appreciated!

OohWeeLJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2020, 08:33 AM   #2
4 Rivet Member

2020 25' Globetrotter
Malibu , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by OohWeeLJ View Post
Newbie here...we will be towing a 2018 16ft Bambi sport with our 2017 Mercedes Benz GLS450 with a factory hitch installed.

Given the air suspensions and towing a smaller AS we will just be using a ball hitch that fits the required specs given by our user manual - there are specific measurements the manual says we cannot exceed. Our question for other members who tow with a GLS450, do you find the 7.5” space from the pinhole of the factory hitch to the middle of the ball a little small? It seems really close to our bumper.