Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Hitches, Couplers & Balls
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-08-2020, 04:19 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1968 28' Ambassador
Roswell , New Mexico
68 Ambassador coupler repair kit or replacement

I have a 1968 Ambassador with an original 2" coupler installed. The coupler is, I'm guessing, worn, as the coupler does not grasp the hitch ball completely. When the coupler is engaged with the ball, the ball will slip out of the hitch when the trailer is jacked up. I have searched for the coupler repair kit that matches my parts, but they are all either out of stock or NLA. Any one have a lead on the repair kit, recommendations on repairing the coupler without the kit, or advice on replacing the coupler entirely? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Flying_tiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2020, 05:23 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1966 22' Safari
1955 22' Flying Cloud
Fredericksburg , Texas
When having that issue on vintage Airstreams he works on, Colin Hyde would run a couple of welding beads on the coupler and grind the weld to contour to the ball. Basically rebuilding the worn area.
Bubba L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2020, 07:01 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1986 34' Limited
1975 27' Overlander
1969 21' Globetrotter
Conifer , Colorado
Hello and welcome to these Airstream Forums. Nice to meet another vintage Airstream enthusiasts. Your 68 model year is desirable, the best of the old body style some say. I wasn't keen on the windows, but the 68 model year was an improvement over my 66.

Sounds like the locking shoe is worn on your trailer, which isn't surprising. I think your coupler would be an old Marvel, but I'm not sure.