Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-14-2021, 12:22 AM   #1

2020 16' Bambi
San Jose , California
2020 Bambi 16RB WD/Sway Control Hitch Questions

Hello All,

I just purchased a 2020 Bambi 16RB from a local Airstream dealer and brand new to towing. I wanted to get some opinions on a WD/Sway Control hitch. My tow vehicle is a 2020 Nissan Armada with factory tow package and has 8500 towing capacity and 850 tongue weight rating. My local dealer carries Equalizer and Blue Ox so looking to go with one of these options.

I understand that many people will say that I don't need a WD hitch at all given my tow vehicle, but really just want to be as safe as possible and get it for sway control if nothing else since I am brand new to RVing and Towing.

I did read a lot of threads on here and other forums and seems like a lot of posts refer to larger trailers and/or smaller tow vehicles. I read in a few posts that if you have a big/stiff tow vehicle and smaller trailer that the Equalizer could be too stiff and put stress on the trailer and cause popped rivets. Then again I have also read a lot of people say that this isn't true. At any rate, given my TV/Trailer combination I was planning to go with the Blue Ox Sway Pro, as my thinking is that this may fit my situation better (less stiff than the Equalizer) and like the idea of a quieter/cleaner set-up. However, the dealer recommended the Equalizer due to the fact that the Blue Ox sits lower/has less clearance and that he usually recommends the Blue Ox for larger trailers (say 25' and up).

So my first question is whether or not I need to worry about ground clearance of using a Blue Ox Sway Pro on a 16' trailer? And if so, is the Equalizer too stiff for my set-up?

Like I said, I am leaning towards the Blue Ox unless for some reason the Equalizer is a much better decision and/or the ground clearance is a real issue.