Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-23-2020, 12:00 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1993 29' Excella
Crystal Lake , Illinois
2019 Ram 2500 4X4 cummins hitch questions

First of all, I want everyone to know 2 things.....1.I have read and read and read "Hitch" posts for about 3 weeks now. 2. This is NOT a "What is the best hitch" question. I've read those threads, and don't want this to turn into that.

So, here's my question(s): Specific to my TV- 2019 Ram 2500 crew cab short bed 4X4 Cummins .....tow capacity (from Ram) 19, 250 lbs.

My Airstream- 1993 29' Excella empty 5700 lbs. gross 6900 lbs.

I bought this 2 weeks ago. Drove it home 350 miles. First time Airstream owner. Noticed some sway when the big rigs rolled by. I've been towing my entire adult life, including boats, small rv/popup, and most frequently an 8 ton construction trailer loaded full of equipment. I'm a contractor. None of this compares to the wind sail of an RV.

For those of you with the same Ram 2500 diesel as me, what anti-sway hitch are you using, and how's it performing for you.

ProPride looks great, and sounds great, but if I knew I was going to have to buy a $3K hitch, I might not have bought my Airstream. I screwed up not researching that first.

I've looked at, and read about, Blue Ox, Reese, and Andersen, and am looking for actual user experiences for controlling sway.

I hope this question doesn't turn into a chest beating contest. Congratulations if you can afford a $150K Airstream and $3K hitch. I cannot. I bought a 30 year old RV to try and get my wife to camp with me. She went in a tent, and won't go again. I'm looking for a solution to THAT.
Airstreamfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2020, 12:12 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2013 31' Classic
billings , Montana
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airstreamfan View Post