Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-10-2015, 02:14 PM   #1

Osoyoos , British Columbia
What do you think of this combination?

Hi all,
I am new to the Airstream Forum and Airstream. We have a 40' Newmar Class A that we have enjoyed a bunch over the years. Now, we have reached a stage where we would like to shorten our trips and most important, expand our choices in the roads we travel and places to park. A 40' motorhome with toad has its limits in this regard.

So, after some initial crusing of the Internet, I have arrived at what I think will fit our needs. (How did we ever figure this out without Google?).

We are looking at a Flying Cloud 25' and towing with a Ford Excursion Max.
The weight rating on the Flying Cloud is 7300 Lbs and the tow rating on the Excursion Max is 9300 Lbs. I have a lot of confidence in the Blue Ox product so will likely make the connection with the Blue Ox anti sway set up.

What do you think?

Thank you all in advance for your expert advice and valued opinions. I have towed a car behind our motorhome for years but this is my first at towing a TT.
Looking forward to joining the Airstream Lifestyle.
Dennis45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 02:27 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 23' Safari SE
Biloxi , Mississippi
Welcome, Sounds like excellant combo to me.

Do you know what a learning experience is? A learning experience is one of those things that says "You know that thing that you just did? Don't do that."
AWCHIEF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 02:31 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2008 25' Classic
Full Time , Texas
What is the engine and axle ratio?

Kelvin
Old 09-10-2015, 02:53 PM   #4
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella