Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-25-2022, 04:07 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2022 27' Globetrotter
Seattle , Washington
Trailer Brake Controller Setting Preferences

I'm curious to know what is the ideal Trailer Brake Controller setting, based on conditions. I'm a newbie learning quickly, always appreciate advice from the experience veterans out there.

In my case, I have a 27' FBQ GT and F-150 XLT. From the factory, it seems the default setting is set to +5 on a scale of 1-10. I have it set on +6 right now, only because at that setting, I can actually "feel" the trailer brakes engage just before the truck's brakes. I'm also traveling very light (by myself).

So, is there a recommended setting, i.e., based on conditions changing? Or is it truly "set it and forget it"?

Thank so much!!
2021 Ford F-150 XLT 4x2 Powerboost
BogeyPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2022, 04:50 PM   #2
"Cloudsplitter"

2003 25' Classic
Houstatlantavegas , Malebolgia
I just start by setting the TruControl Gold to lock up from 15-20mph on a loose surface...we be lucky the vacant lot is right around the corner.
Once the TC adjusted & tweaked for the load it will take care of the rest...once & done.

Bob
🇺🇸
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	6B1055FD-791A-4FC5-A0A3-1C127DDE2D3E.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	141.0 KB
ID:	425737  
Old 11-25-2022, 08:27 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member

2018 28' Flying Cloud
Chapin , South Carolina
The method I was taught and has worked for me:
All hitched up and on level surface, put TV in gear, proceed forward at idle. Apply full trailer brakes only. Rig should come to a soft but complete stop. Adjust controller accordingly.
StuartsDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2022, 08:36 AM   #4
Rivet Master

2017 23' Flying Cloud
Bartlett , Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by StuartsDad View Post