Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-21-2013, 08:37 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Elmsford , New York
Tow vehicle for Airstream travel trailer

As a complete novice, newbe is an understatement, I am lost about what I will require to safely tow a new Airstream in my upcoming retirement. I am not comfortable driving a truck -- no way will I consider that alternative driving alone throughout the country; I have sought out info in the 2012 Trailer Towing Guide and learned that the Toyota Land Cruiser has a towing capacity of 8,000 lbs. Although not far removed from being a truck, it is a little more comfortable to drive. Can anyone suggest which is the largest model 2013 Airstream Travel trailers I can buy to match with an SUV (so far the Land Cruiser has the largest towing capacity I could find and has a trailer towing package available)?

I realize the Airstream weight cannot equal maximum towing weight of the SUV. I have a feeling my plans to travel the USA are all but caput, with a safe and manageable set up (including the best trailer hitch for the weight, towing vehicle and Airstream trailer). I need a decent size model with all amenities, including bath, kitchen, A/C, solar charging and inverter, etc. The Classic Ltd. are not possible due to weight, but I can have a smaller unit customized, if not by Airstream, elsewhere. Any advice would be much appreciated. Anyone believes that towing with an SUV is not wise, no matter the size?

Thank you.
RussH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 08:50 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2013 27' FB International
El Dorado Hills , California
I'm towing a 27FB with a SUV, a Ford Expedition. However I gather from your note you seem a bit unconfortable with a larger rig. I suggest sticking to the 19', 20', or 23FB. The rest of the trailers have heavy hitch weights that start to need higher capacity tow vehicles.