Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-14-2007, 01:08 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
South Lake Tahoe , California
tow package question for 2002 V-6 Chevy Silverado

hi, i am completely new to all of this but have loved airstremes since i was a kid. i am looking to purchaswe a 2004 international ccd 22' and had a question as to what type of tow package i will need to put on my truck. i have a single cab 2002 chevy silverado, v6 standard transmission. i was told i wouldnt have a problem towing the 22' trailer with this vehicle. any information would be greatly appreciated!
ryan b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 01:30 PM   #2
Tom, the Uber Disney Fan

2006 30' Safari
Orlando , Florida
I'm not familiar with the V-6 Silverado, but I am pretty sure that it would be under powered for even a 22' International. If it were a Safari, it might be different because they are lighter than the Internationals. But I think you will soon find that you will want more power. Yes, the truck will pull the trailer but you won't be as comfortable as you would with a V-8. I would recommend a bigger engine. Of course, I've been told I have too much truck for my trailer...I disagree.
WBCCI# 4821
https://streaminacrossamerica.com/
Minnie's Mate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 01:41 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari FB SE
St. Cloud , Minnesota
Hello Ryan -- Welcome to the Forums! A V6 might be able to handle a 16' but would it work with a 19'? I really can't speak from experience but it would be very underpowered. And you are at Lake Tahoe too! That's so much more than mere hills out there. Member silverback had a V8 Tundra for a 22' CCD and here is his story: http://www.airforums.com/forums/f42/...esel-6818.html

5 meter Langford Nahanni

CanoeStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 01:49 PM   #4
4 Rivet Member

2000 31' Land Yacht