Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-02-2020, 08:15 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Nashville , Tennessee
So confused....Make this simple

Last year we purchased a Ford F150 Platinum 3.5 EcoBoost as we thought we would be buying a 22 AS. As it turns out we bought bigger than expected as we are now the proud owners of a 27FB Globetrotter.

We drove it about 700 miles home this weekend and we used a Blue Ox Pro hitch. As I have little experience driving trailers, I don't know what normal is.

A few things that I noticed:

Pros:
Plenty of power

Smooth ride unless the road was concrete with ridges

Cons:
I could feel eighteen wheelers come up behind me from the opposite lane. The trailer/truck felt as if it were pulled into the other lane slightly.

The truck/trailer porpoised on cruddy concrete highway at 65MPH.I pulled over.

A few questions:

*Are the cons normal?

*Payload question - My sticker states that my payload is 1500. If my tongue weight is 800lbs, my cover is 100lbs and 2 passengers weighing 350lbs. Does that mean I can only bring 250lbs of other stuff?

*Do I have the right truck?

Thanks
CJS
cjsigmund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 08:31 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

Phoenix , Arizona
Congrats on a fantastic trailer. You chose very well. I too had a similar experience to you.

I had a 2016 f150 with tow package. Payload was 1480 lbs. I bought a GT25. My trailer and load were well above safety ratings—by 800-900 pounds. I also felt semi-trucks, crosswinds, and driving was always stressful. It worked, yes, but it wasn’t safe and I didn’t enjoy driving fully loaded.