Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-26-2021, 07:51 PM   #1
4 Rivet Member

2024 23' International
Seattle , Washington
Silly question about tire load ratings

Hello everyone,

Still a newbie here and I had a question about tire weight ratings.

I have Goodyear Wrangler tires that are 275/60R20 with a load rating of 115, which is 2679 lbs.

So does that mean that each axle has tire load capacity 5358 lbs?

Thank you for not laughing.
BogeyPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2021, 08:17 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Yes, but you are limited by the axle rating. Btw, I had those tires OEM on my truck. Hated them!
Edit: wait mine were eagles in that size.

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2021, 08:25 PM   #3
4 Rivet Member

2024 23' International
Seattle , Washington
Why did you hate them?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dznf0g View Post
Yes, but you are limited by the axle rating. Btw, I had those tires OEM on my truck. Hated them!
Edit: wait mine were eagles in that size.
These are also "OEM" on my F-150...thanks for the answer, but now curios as to why did you hate them?
Old 11-26-2021, 08:41 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by BogeyPro View Post
These are also "OEM" on my F-150...thanks for the answer, but now curios as to why did you hate them?
They rode a bit rough. Low traction on wet pavement. Horrible in snow.

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
Old 11-27-2021, 03:53 AM   #5
Rivet Master

2024 23' International