Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-11-2003, 12:38 AM   #1

Novice tow vehicle question

My wife and I are very interested in buying a new Airstream...possibly the 22' International. It came about because we felt we needed another room for our house and thought it would be a great way to "add-on" without the expense of construction! However, the other advantage is the ability to hitch it up and take off for the weekend (or more!) Being complete novices, and only having a Honda CR-V (way too weak to pull anything beyond a jetski!) we wanted to know if it's possible to rent a truck capable of towing the AS when we want to get away? Do places like Hertz or Avis rent trucks with tow hitches? Or do we have to go to U-Haul? Or do we need to bite the bullet and purchase a new car/truck?
Any help would be most appreciated! We are already obsessed with AS!!!!
Burbank3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2003, 03:23 AM   #2
Rivet Master

Massachusetts
Send a message via Yahoo to yukionna
I'm certain you COULD rent a truck with enough HP/capacity to pull your trailer; the question is WOULD you really want to do that? Don't forget about the mileage expense associated with renting vehicles. My suggestion would be to call Hertz or U-Haul and ask them.
yukionna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2003, 04:51 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1959 22' Caravanner
Atlanta , Georgia
I doubt you could rent a truck or SUV to do that. They proably won't have a hitch. If they have a hitch they will not be wired for towing. You would have to install a brake controler everything you wanted to go somewhere.