Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-28-2021, 01:12 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Seattle , WA
Question Newbie Question: Best Tow Vehicle for International 27FB

Hello, everyone! I'm so glad I found this forum. Bear with me, as I am a total newbie. Thank you for your patience.

I'm seriously considering purchasing a new 2021 AS International 27FB. GVWR is 7600 lbs, hitch weight (with batteries and LP) is 791 lbs.

Right now, it is just me and my golf clubs. Throw in a bike, and perhaps an occasional traveling companion, so no more than two persons. I would prefer a pickup truck over an SUV. My budget is us$30-40k.

What would be your recommendations for the safest tow vehicle for this scenario?

THANK YOU!!
BogeyPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2021, 01:22 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1977 31' Sovereign
Rochester , WASHINGTON
Quote:
Originally Posted by BogeyPro View Post
Hello, everyone! I'm so glad I found this forum. Bear with me, as I am a total newbie. Thank you for your patience.

I'm seriously considering purchasing a new 2021 AS International 27FB. GVWR is 7600 lbs, hitch weight (with batteries and LP) is 791 lbs.

Right now, it is just me and my golf clubs. Throw in a bike, and perhaps an occasional traveling companion, so no more than two persons. I would prefer a pickup truck over an SUV. My budget is us$30-40k.

What would be your recommendations for the safest tow vehicle for this scenario?

THANK YOU!!
A truck in the 3/4 Ton range.
Examples
Ford F-250
Chevy 2500 Series
Don't tow with too small of a tow vehicle, that the trailer becomes capable of driving
Old 02-28-2021, 02:39 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2020 23' International
Evergreen , Colorado
If I were buying a new tow vehicle for that trailer, it would be a GMC 2500 or 3500 with a Duramax Diesel engine.

2020 International Serenity 23 FB "Sparkle Plenty"
2018 GMC Denali 1500 Crew Cab 4x4