Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-16-2010, 08:56 AM   #1

Saline , Michigan
Newbie needs TV Advice

Hi everyone, I'm new to towing, and seriously considering buying a 16-19' Sport. I see lots of opinions on tow vehicles, but would like to know what specifications I should be considering, ie weight of TV vs trailer, horsepower, torque, wheelbase, other??

I toured the Airstream plant in Ohio last week, and the only advice I got from them was "Go see a dealer." I don't want to walk into a dealer and have him try to sell me an Expedition with a huge engine if all I need is a 6-cyl. Escape.

Help, please!!
Flight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 09:17 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2007 23' Safari SE
Central , Connecticut
Flight, what do you want to tow with? This size of trailer gives you a bunch of choices. Are you buying new? Is it going to be a daily driver?

And what sort of cars do you like? Narrowing things down a bit will help a lot.

Tom
mutcth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 09:24 AM   #3

Saline , Michigan
This vehicle will not be my daily car - I have a 2010 VW Jetta TDI, which I love, but it's not right for towing. Whatever I buy will be strictly for towing. I'd prefer comfortable, used but *newer*, SUV rather than pickup, and the smallest vehicle that will do the job well.

I'm an engineer, so I'm used to working with parameters. If I know what to look for, I can do some comparison shopping, knowing I'm still within the limits I need. Jeep Cherokee, Ford Escape/Explorer, that sort of vehicle, but would like to know how to determine which is optimum. Good mileage vs capability.

Thanks for any help you can give me!
Old 11-16-2010, 09:48 AM   #4
Rivet Master

2007 23' Safari SE
Central , Connecticut