Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-21-2011, 05:25 PM   #1
4RivetWannabe

2007 16' Bambi
2018 26' Flying Cloud
San Jose , California
Need a truck to tow a 2007 16' Bambi

Hi All,

I just bought a 2007 Bambi 16' CCD and now looking for a truck to pull it. I'm new to this, and getting educated as quickly as possible. I want to buy used, a 2005-2007, preferably, as trucks in that year/mileage seem to fit my price range. Can I get some suggestions for this trailer? Or pointers to current discussions that would help?

I don't plan on towing anything heavier than the Bambi. If I upgrade the trailer later, I'd upgrade the TV, if required. So far I've narrowed down my preference to the V6 Tacoma double cab, or either a V6 or V8 Tundra or F-150 with an access cab (not crew). The idea behind V6 was that the Bambi is not too heavy and gas mileage would be better when not using it for towing.

As far as listed tow capacity, all of these seem capable. Although, there do not seem to be many V6 Tundra and V6 F-150's on the market. And I haven't seen any with a factory installed tow package.

Any suggestions or recommendations? Also, for this trailer and these tow vehicles, is weight distribution and/or anti sway devices recommended?

Thanks,
Ralph

ps. Here's link to a picture of it:
http://www.airforums.com/forums/f368...mbi-83919.html
rportillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 05:43 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

2019 28' International
Leonardtown , Maryland