Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-01-2010, 02:15 AM   #1

Currently Looking...
Marion , Montana
Locating diesel fuel stations

I am new to towing with a 2500 HD Chevy Duramax and am concerned about locating diesel fuel while traveling. What method(s) do you use for finding such fueling stations? Are any of the many GPS devices useful for locating these businesses? If so which GPS offers this feature?
Rays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 06:04 AM   #2
4 Rivet Member

2006 30' Classic
Yonkers , New York
Use buddygas.com to plan your trip and make sure that you select diesel. You will need to input you vehicle type, tank size, town & highway MPG.
F450Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 06:08 AM   #3
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
Mantua , Ohio
There used to be a book titled The Next Exit that gave info on gas, food,etc. for all interstate exits. I think it is still available. Also some GPS have truck route info which give diesel and truckstop info as well low clearance and narrow road info. Hope this helps. zz
xrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 06:16 AM   #4
1 Rivet Short

1989 25' Excella
By The Bay , Rhode Island
I'll copy/paste my response from another thread below. Another benefit to diesel when you are towing; the pumps are often separate to accommodate large trucks...this means more room for you to maneuver, and usually no one behind you so you can take your time and not have to move out of the way so quickly...

Excerpt;