Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-31-2020, 04:16 PM   #1
Djg

Burke , Virginia
Jeep Wrangler - Tow Vehicle

I am new to all of this and looking for a trailer and a tow vehicle. The Jeep Wrangler is appealing, except for its 3,500lb rating. I have seen references to the Wrangler being able to tow more if I change the hitch. Looking for input as to what a reasonable tow weight would be if I upgraded the hitch system and if it would increase more if I got the diesel. I will not buy on these recommendations and will continue to consult but looking for ideas.
Djg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2020, 04:39 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2015 20' Flying Cloud
Kingsport , Tennessee
The Gladiator version of the Wrangler can tow a lighter trailer; but an actual Wrangler, I don’t think I’d even tow a Nest with it... maybe a Basecamp... but if you’re wanting a more traditional Airstream, starting with the 16’ Bambi or anything bigger, a Wrangler wouldn’t be what I’d pick.

Good luck,
WBCCI #1051
LNBright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2020, 08:41 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2020 23' Flying Cloud
2019 22' Sport
Sebastian , Florida
Don’t push the tow limits, especially on a short wheelbase TV. Just don’t. You will not enjoy camping at all, if you are worried about just getting there safely. If you don’t have those kind of thoughts, think about whomever you might find in front of your five tons of hurtling metal (like, me and my wife).
There are about a hundred threads on this subject, so you really don’t need to have the (often vociferous) experts repeat what they know. It’s already out there, in excruciating detail. And for towing, details matter.