Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-01-2018, 04:17 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2019 27' Globetrotter
Driftless Area , Wisconsin
Help spec a new F-250

Hi. Some of you may have seen my other thread, Help spec a new F-150. This is its companion thread.

I'm a newbie seeking advice on speccing a TV for a 2019 Globetrotter FB Twin. I'm hoping these threads provide me (and future owners of similarly sized trailers) some insight on how to navigate the myriad options involved in tow truck specs, hopefully without the dogmatic opinion that seems to have plagued the similar threads.

You can view the first post in that 150 thread for some context on trailer use and payload. For this thread, I'll get straight to my questions:
  • Whereas speccing an F-150 seems to be about finagling this option and that option to arrive at a workable tow and payload capacities for the GT, the F-250 seems a lot more straightforward. Am I correct in thinking that the only major decision to make is gas or disel, and that any 250 with the max tow package is more than capable of carrying my family and gear and towing my trailer?
  • Are there any configurations I should avoid? There is part of me that thinks that if I need to get a big truck, I might as well get a Platinum and some options then call it done.
  • Assuming I don't need Max Tow with the 250, I'm not clear on which axle ratio, wheelbase, or alternator I should get. 3.73 non-limited slip axle ratio is standard.