Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-26-2011, 06:03 AM   #1
Rivet Master

2002 30' Classic S/O
Garden Valley , Idaho
Gasoline brands-interesting thread

This was in a gasoline thread on the Ford truck forum and I thought it was interesting.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ********
I run 87 Oct. I usally use either Mobil, Chevron and Shell. I prefer Mobil but look for the others if mobil is not around. I would like to use BP. but we do not have it here. BP is suppose to be oil not from the middle east.

I got news for you and all the others. First of all, I haul the stuff for a living. Second, ALL the major branded (and some of the nonbranded Racetrack, Speedway, etc) gasoline is now blended with ethanol, anywhere from 10% (E10) up to 85% (E85) ALL the major brands have their own mix of additives blended into the gasoline at the loading rack. You may [i]think[i] you're buying Chevron's gas made by Chevron, (or take your pick of other companies) but everyone loads from a common loading rack(s) where the rack has multiple storage tanks for each brand's additives. So you want to buy BP only fuel ? Good luck with that. You're not likely going to get BP made gasoline, unless the station is on a BP refinery parking lot. Even then, it could have come from anotherr refinery. Stations and marketers buy based on the price of the day, whatever loading rack has the cheapest price, that's where EVERYBODY gets their gas from that day (with very few exceptions) If a Chevron marketer can get his fuel (blended to Chevron's specs and additives) cheaper from a Citgo refinery, that's where he'll buy it. Bottom line is, buy your gas whereever you choose, wherever you think you'll get