Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-31-2009, 12:23 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2008 23' International CCD
golden , Colorado
Four Wheel Drive or Two Wheel Tow Vehicle?

I'm sure this has been asked before, but I'm not good with searching. If the tow vehicle has two wheel or four wheel drive, which should you use for general highway driving?
1cericks1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 12:31 PM   #2
"Cloudsplitter"

2003 25' Classic
Houstatlantavegas , Malebolgia
Two for sure...

We boon-dock a lot and the 4wd has come in handy more than a few times. A lot of folks don't feel 4wd is worth it, but when it's needed it sure is nice to have. Plus in our neck of the woods it does get used.
Old 01-31-2009, 12:33 PM   #3

2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
Greetings from the Florida Panhandle

We have two Suburban 2500's that we use to tow our 2005 25FB. The 2005 Suburbans is 4WD and the 2004 Suburban is a 2WD. We have pulled the Airstream over 40,000 miles with these two Suburbans.

On the highway we always pull in two wheel drive. The only time that we have pulled the trailer in four wheel drive was in a campground in Montana when we got bogged down in a mud hole.

Brian
WBCCI #3628 -- AIR #14872 -- TAC #FL-7
2015 FC 25' FB (Lucy) with ProPride
2020 Silverado 2500 (Vivian)
2023 Rivian R1T (Opal)
moosetags is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 12:58 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari FB SE
St. Cloud , Minnesota