Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-16-2019, 04:22 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

2020 28' International
Wilmington , North Carolina
Cruise Control - yeah or neah?

Greetings - newbie here so please don't shoot me.
We have a 2019 Ram 2500 6.4 Hemi towing a 2019 25 FC FBT. Obviously traffic, weather and road conditions aside, but when the opportunity presents itself, do y'all recommend staying away from the cruise control or is the prevailing thought Sure, when the time is right I use my Cruise Control?
etojeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 05:03 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1994 34' Excella
Warren , Manitoba
Cruise control makes pulling the trailer much easier on the driver during long trips. Use common sense, and if concerned about any road conditions turn it off. I use mine all the time when it is safe to do so. Chris
ACI #7394
2012 GMC 2500 HD Duramax Denali
1994 Excella 34'
1987 Limited 34', 1976 31', 1976 Argosy 22' Gone to new homes
Hensley Hitch
CBWELL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 06:49 PM   #3
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

2012 25' FB Flying Cloud
Celina , Ohio
We use Cruise control when ever we can.

Gary
Castaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 07:42 PM   #4
PKI
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
Walnut Creek , California
When cruise control is used driving solo it often leads to a casual driving style. When towing, that is not acceptable. The driving approach must be focused, active, and attentive. The cruise control must be used as an electronic throttle, controlled by hand and as active/effective as if the throttle was foot controlled.