Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-18-2021, 01:05 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2022 27' Globetrotter
Seattle , WA
4WD or 2WD, pulling an Airstream?

Hello again, my friends.

Newbie here..I have an order placed for a 2022 F-150 Powerboost XLT, 2WD. Reasons I chose the 2WD? Save about us$6000, slightly better gas mileage, and according to Ford spec sheet, the 2WD has 2120 max payload versus the 4WD, which has 1810. Also, the towing capacity, 2WD has 12,700 lbs, the 4WD 12,400. Plus the anticipated extra cost of maintenance, etc.

I do plan on doing some occasional boon docking, but don't see myself taking the Airstream over any rough roads..as I keep hearing that the Airstreams are "pavement princesses".

Having second thoughts now...would like to hear from the veterans out there...is the 4WD really worth it, towing an Airstream? I also keep hearing "better to have it, and not need it, then to need it, and not have it". True?

I mean, how often to you find yourself pulling such a very expensive trailer "off road"? It would seem to me to avoid such situations...

Thank you for your thoughts.
BogeyPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2021, 01:16 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2009 25' FB International
2018 27' Globetrotter
Hanover , Pennsylvania
Only you can decide if having 4WD is worth it. Like you mentioned, 2WD is cheaper, increases payload and towing capacity, and less complicated.

I went thru the exact same thought process when I ordered my RAM 2500. I ultimately chose 4WD because: I'll get most of the initial investment when I see/trade it; I don't need more payload or towing capacity; I can afford the extra cost of driving a 4WD; And, finally, there have been more than a few situation where I needed it. Mostly because of wet grass and/or frost on the grass and muddy conditions due to heavy rains. These were not off road situations.