Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Towing, Tow Vehicles & Hitches > Tow Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-07-2021, 06:32 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Miami , FL
2016 Ram 1500 ecodiesel

Hello, I'm a newbie on the forum and I don't have any experience towing a camper. Plenty of experience towing boats but this would be my first time towing a camper so any advice is appreciated.

I'm currently looking at a 27 Classic International and I'm concerned that this would be the max weight my truck can handle. The GVWR weight of the AS is 9k pounds. Anyone have the RAM with issues towing this amount of weight?
Oyekim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2021, 07:01 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2018 25' International
Slidell , Louisiana
1/2 ton trucks (nearly all of them) generally don't do their best towing over a 25' Airstream unless you travel with not much gear (but why have a truck then....) and you take some steps to shore up the combination. They tend to have issues with sway and oversteer instabilities. Some have brake and drivetrain performance issues out west. Many people make the 1/2 ton 27' combinations work, but there are better choices.
BayouBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2021, 08:11 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2017 28' International
Jim Falls , Wisconsin
Don’t know much about the 2016 RAM diesel. The dealer I bought my Airstream from in 2017 used that configuration to tow all their Airstreams. It will depend upon your hitch set up and how much stuff you are going to carry. I tow a 28’ with 2020 F150 ecoboost and have no issues.