Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-13-2009, 12:07 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
calabasas , California
2007 acura mdx and towing

I have an '07 Acura MDx which has a 5K towing capability. I am considering a 20' flying cloud. It's GCWR is 5K with a UVW of 4197lbs and an NCC of 803lbs. Is this trailer too much for my vehicle?

I am a newbie and safety is of paramount concern. There will be 2 adults/3 children in tow vehicle. How does this affect the towing capacity?

Also, any thoughts on vehicle upgrades, i.e., WD hitch, anti-sway, tire, shocks/springs, will be most appreciated. FYI, my vehicle is AWD and has the factory tow package installed.

Are there any MDX specific concerns?

Thanks, in advance, for your input.
darinr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 01:57 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

2007 28' International CCD
West Hollywood , California
MDX is comparable to Jeep Grand Cherokee, X5 and such, right? I think they all have similar wheelbase.

There is the towing capacity. And there is also the loading capacity of MDX, which I was not able to find from my brief search. These two are related but are two separate things.

Curb weight of MDX is 4600 pounds
Towing capacity is 5000 pounds.

Loading capacity is 1500 pounds (?, my guess)

a) 2 adults + 3 children + luggage + full tank of gas = 800 ~ 1000 pounds?
b) tongue weight of Flying Cloud = 12, 13% of 4200 (empty) or 5000 (loaded) = about 500 ~ 600 pounds

a + b must be below the "loading capacity (1500, in this case)

You can see how what you are proposing may be beyond the limit or really close to it.