Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Full-Timing, Winter Living & Workamping > Winter Living
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 12-27-2007, 05:37 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1979 23' Safari
Send a message via Yahoo to atvmcg
Bozeman to Las Vegas Jan 2008

I need to drive from Montana to NV next week. I-80 over the Rockies to Butte,MT and down I-15 to LVegas. Any suggestions on what I need to be aware of? Do I need to chain/cable? 4 wheel drive fulltime? Any stretches I should be aware of? I've never done winter weather before.
atvmcg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 06:15 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

2003 22' International CCD
Whittier , California
Driving the interstates is smart in winter weather, since these roadways are kept cleared and de-iced on a full time basis. Do carry chains in winter, it's not only practical, but its the law in some Western states. Look at your tire sidewalls and see if you have M+S rated tires. A new designation that is replacing M+S is a snowflake inside a triangle that designates a snow rated tire. Have gloves, a tarp and flashlight in case you need to install them yourself. Be sure you have chain tensioners in addition to the chains and secure the loose links at the ends with them.

If weather conditions require chains on 4 WD vehicles with snow tires, consider stopping for the few hours it takes for the storm to pass and the road to be cleared.

Consider driving in daylight hours only. Icy patches are more visible in daylight.

Reduce speed dramatically if the road surface is covered in snow. It's your best safety margin.

Have a great trip.
bobkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 06:20 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1965 17' Caravel
1968 28' Ambassador
Butte , Montana