Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-13-2002, 05:13 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

New Shocks

Wanted to see if you can actually use normal truck shocks for replacements on Airstreams, or if getting Airstream specific shocks is the necessary way to go. If anyone has replaced theirs, please let me know what you used. I have a 1972 Ambassador 29' if that has a bearing on what kind to get.
Melissa Hamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2002, 06:41 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

Shocks

I've been told that AS shocks are special
because of the angle at which they are mounted..... And the prices are very close to the same dollar. I guess the mounts could be re-engineered. There are several areas that can use re-engineering.....
Old 06-13-2002, 09:35 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1965 20' Globetrotter
Currently Looking...
Houston , Texas
Best bet is to use the Gabriel shocks...

I used the Airstream OEM shocks that are now made by Gabriel on my 65 Globetrotter. Got them from BobJones RV in Houston, TX for $25.00 each. Fit like they were made for it.... Oh, they were made for it.

Others have found a NAPA match, but why go to all that trouble.

Inland RV, Inc. also has them listed on their web parts list.

-BobbyWright

-"You want to make it two inches - or, if you're working in centimeters, make sure it's enough centimeters for two inches."-Red Green
BobbyW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2002, 12:19 PM   #4
Rivet Master

1986 25' Sovereign
Southern Middle , Tennessee
Melissa,
www.inlandrv.com had them on sale. Not sure if they are still on sale at this time. Airstream has them made for them but I can't remember if they were made by Gabriel or not.

AIR #0078
'01 2500hd ext. cab, 8.1 litre gas, 5 sp. Allison auto
3.73 rear end
Mag-Hytec rear diff cover
Amsoil Dual by-pass oil filtration system
Amsoil synthetics all around
265 watt AM Solar, Inc. system