Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-05-2023, 08:33 PM   #1

Waxhaw , North Carolina
Modify a used Flying Cloud or Buying a New One with what I want.

I recently got into airstreams as an alternative to a tiny house that I could take on my summers off (I work in education enough said). I am not against getting a used model but if I do I would like to get one that is at least 2021 or newer. A lot of innovations have come along from what I saw and was told during my walk-throughs at shows and dealerships.

Now the new 2023 would cost me a little over 100k and I am not against such an investment given how well - from what I have seen and heard - airstreams hold their value.

I am mainly looking at the 2023 Flying Cloud 25 FB with the Desk as I do work on the computer and with computers a lot in my free time. However, I do admit I wish the desk was a bit bigger in it.

However, I recently came across a 2022 Flying Cloud 25FB that the owner is asking 92k for, but this version doesn't have the desk. So how difficult would it be to remove the extended sitting area and replace it with a desk? Would it be cheaper and save me money or cost more than just buying a brand-new model?

I have attached a picture showing the seating area I am wanting to remove (it is shaded red) and replace it with a desk of my own design.
Click image for larger version

Name:	airstream_removal_section.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	130.6 KB
ID:	432824
DapperDice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2023, 09:08 PM   #2
Site Team

1994 25' Excella
Waukesha , Wisconsin
Quote:
Originally Posted by DapperDice View Post
...So how difficult would it be to remove the extended sitting area and replace it with a desk? Would it be cheaper and save me money or cost more than just buying a brand-new model?...
Lots of variables here regarding difficulty...