Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum > General Interior Topics
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 03-03-2004, 11:21 PM   #1

Airstream trailer insullation

Hello to all,
I'm newbie here on the forum and I'm very interested in buying a newer Airstream trailer for my retirement and I'm wondering how well they are insullated. I've been told that most RV's and trailers only have a 1" foam core insullation and I'm hoping that Airstreams are better insullated than that.

Thanks in advance.

Michael.......
alltrips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 11:49 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1987 29' Sovereign
Sparta , Tennessee
Send a message via Yahoo to wingfoot321
Alltrips,

I'm sitting down here in south texas this winter. It has been colder than normal. My unit is older and I have been burning the propane this winter. My unit is tight, has a strong furnace but, still burns a lot of propane when it is cold.

An airstreams alum skin solidly anchored to steel ribs with an alum interior solidly anchored to the same steel ribs is going to conduct heat or cold very well.

I can tell you the better build 5th wheels such as Holiday rambler/Newmars are much better insulated than my unit.

Let some of the folks with the later models give you the straight scoop but, I would be surprised if an Airstream could ever be rated above average due to alum. const.

Be sure to check the insulated liners on the newer units. I have been told the glue can break down if the units get too hot in the sun. I talked to a WBCCI member that paid the factory $3500 to repair his sagging liner.
wingfoot321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2004, 12:33 AM   #3
2 Rivet Member

Try www.airstream.com