Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Interior Restoration Forum > General Interior Topics
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 07-22-2013, 02:45 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1959 28' Ambassador
Carmi , Illinois
1959 28' Ambassador Renovation

Hello all. I am new to Airstream ownership and renovation. While I am an electrician by trade and somewhat handy. Travel trailer renovation is a whole new ball game to me. My trailer is in fair condition. The exterior has minor defects that can be repaired fairly easily. I plan on starting on the interior this fall and hope to be ready to work on exterior in the spring. The interior will need to be gutted and replaced. Does anyone have advice on where to begin the process? I plan on pulling everything out and surveying the condition of floor, walls, electrical, and plumbing. What do I need to watch for? In what order would I start my reno and what are some of the main issues that I may encounter? I'm sure ill have tons of questions and I appreciate any feedback.
Thanks.
JBigg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 01:57 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

1963 28' Ambassador
Vintage Kin Owner
Northern VT , Vermont
Just saw your post. Starting w/a '59 /28 is starting at the top! Generally the interiors were loaded from the rear forward, so you disassemble from the front back. Take pics and measurments to locate or relocate 12v & 110v, fresh and drain water when you rebuild. Drill out enough pop rivets around the interior at floor level to lift the interior skins so you can check the floor perimeter & U channel for rot. Unzip enough belly pan to inspect the frame, X members & outriggers. A '59 ambassador is a sweet find. I'd encourage you to do a body off full rebuild.
putback is offline   Reply With Quote