Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-21-2023, 11:28 AM   #1

Howell , Michigan
Complete NEWBIE. Considering AS for Winter adventures

So, I've never owned an RV. Never even slept in one. I'm going to be an empty nester next year, and I'm already scheming. I'd be traveling solo and looking to do lengthy ski trips in the winter and then have the freedom to do some golf/beach trips in the summer. Obviously, the AS is a very attractive trailer. But I want to make a smart choice.

Considering I'd like to do some significant winter camping, does it make sense for me to pay a premium for an AS? What else should I consider and what are the trade-offs? Artic fox? Much cheaper entry point, sure, but is it going to be that much better in the winter and what will it be worth 5 years later? Should I even care about that? I have a 1000 mile trip to get to the good ski areas from home.

Should I skip the RV and rent someplace in the mountains for a month or two?

Has anyone created "THE" guide to converting your AS for winter camping bliss?

I really appreciate your thoughts. Thank you.
newbieWJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2023, 12:29 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2017 25' International
West Lake Hills , Texas
Airstream are not true four-season trailers. Lots of folks spend cold winters in them but it takes some effort to make it work. The insulation is very thin. LOTS of condensation.

I'd rent the cabin.
Fungus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2023, 12:45 PM   #3

2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
In many parts of the country, Airstreams are nine month trailers. They are years round the deep south. They are not that well insulated.

Brian
WBCCI #3628 -- AIR #14872 -- TAC #FL-7
2015 FC 25' FB (Lucy) with ProPride
2020 Silverado 2500 (Vivian)
2023 Rivian R1T (Opal)
moosetags is offline   Reply With Quote