Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-19-2020, 04:42 PM   #1

Bogart , Alabama
Unwinterizing

I have a 2018 Basecamp. It is currently winterized but I am very confused as to how to dewinterize. Can anyone give me detailed step by step instructions, with illustrations if possible. I’m a newbie and very nervous on how to do this! Thank you!
Bparkeruga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2020, 04:46 PM   #2
Site Team

2002 25' Safari
Dewey , Arizona
There are several methods of winterizing, know what was done would dictate the reverse process.

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2020, 05:10 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2007 Interstate
Normal , Illinois
And your owners manual should be of help to you.

One option would be to find an RV place that does this, and have them walk you thru their process, step by step.

Take notes and pictures.

Maggie
Old 02-19-2020, 05:21 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2012 27' Flying Cloud
W , New England
I don’t know how similar a Basecamp is to a Flying Cloud, but here’s the step by step process I use. Some of it is me writing to myself so things may not apply to you. Does any of this make sense?

Dewinterize Procedure

YOU CAN START THIS AT THE STORAGE YARD CONNECTING TO THEIR HOSE.....don’t leave until step 4 completed

NOTE: you could do steps 1-11 the day before - this would sanitize FW tank overnight and pump chlorine through all systems when flushing out AF.

DO NOT ADDRESS WATER HEATER BYPASS UNTIL STEP 14

HAVE 3 oz OF BLEACH FOR STEP 4

HAVE 15/16 SOCKET FOR WH PLUG STEP 2

1reinstall batteries (see pics in Battery file on phone) - starting camping again is a POSITIVE experience; hook positive up first
2reassemble items left loose for winter: exterior shower heads, hoses/filter at pump, REPLACE WATER HEATER DRAIN PLUG - replace batteries in remote controls...