Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-16-2003, 08:30 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Ann Arbor
Question Spring preparation for travel season

Well, here in southern Michigan it looks like Spring may actually be arriving on time. If the weather continues as it is today (and forecast for the next few days), the snow around my A/S may be gone by next weekend!

So as a relative newbie, I'd like to get Forum advice on what the standard preparations are for getting the rig ready to roll (aside from stocking up the cupboard and fridge, of course).

TIA.
Eugenie
maznblu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2003, 09:30 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2001 34' Limited
The State of , Ohio
If your weather's anything like Dayton's, I wouldn't dewinterize just yet, unless you're willing to fire up the furnace and leave it set on about 50 degrees. That's probably a good thing to do anyway to prevent mildew this time of year... and if you have a heat pump and are hooked up, you can use that to save LP.

Here's my spring sanitizing ritual, most of it right out of the Airstream Owners Manual:

If you're using bleach that comes in a gallon jug, multiply the number of gallons of tank capacity by .13 to find how many ounces of bleach you need.

If you're using the new "Ultra" bleach that comes in a 3 QT jug that's supposed to equal a gallon, multiply the number of gallons of tank capacity by .1 to find how many ounces of bleach you need.

For a 40 gal tank, that's 5.2 oz of regular bleach and 4 ounces of "Ultra" bleach. Put that in a gallon container and fill with water to dilute it. Then using a funnel, pour it into the tank filler. Then fill the tank.